ECFE

Early Childhood Family Education


Parents who take an active role in their child’s education have children who do better in school and life! If you have a young child under the age of 5, please join us for ECFE! Early Childhood Family Education Classes are fun for both children and parents! Hope to see you there!

Early Childhood Family Education (ECFE) 

Classes are offered at all of our schools for children and their parents before the child goes to Kindergarten.  Classes meet weekly for 2 hours. 

Classes include a time for parents and children to do activities together and a time apart when parents meet with other parents and children remain with the teacher and play together.  This program builds independence, language skills, and group interaction skills.  It is a great way to meet families with young children in your community! 

Fees for this class are on a sliding fee scale based on family income.  No family will be turned away for their inability to pay.  Immunizations must be current to attend classes! 

Special events are provided for families in their local school communities for parents with young children.  We would love to see you there!  Information will be mailed out to all families on our early childhood mailing list. 

Help us build our Early Childhood Mailing List! 

Do you have a child under the age of 5? If so, we would like to add you to our early childhood mailing list. Please call or email DaNeil at 218-749-8130 or

Or you can contact your school early childhood team and ask them to add you to the early childhood mailing list. We need: Parent and child’s name, child’s birthday, address, phone number and if you have an email we would like that too!



Early Childhood Family Education Teaching Staff

 

School

Staff

Email

Cherry

Deb Spencer, Child Educator

Lori Udovich, Parent Educator

Jocelyn Jerkovich, Child Educator


dspencer@isd2142.k12.mn.us

ludovich@isd2142.k12.mn.us

jajerkovich@isd2142.k12.mn.us

 

North Woods

Becky Chopp, Child Educator

Lori Udovich, Parent Educator

Ashtyn Thompson


bchopp@isd2142.k12.mn.us

ludovich@isd2142.k12.mn.us

athompson@isd2142.k12.mn.us

 

Northeast Range

Jane Bradford, Child Educator

Sarah Hansen, Parent Educator


jbradford@isd2142.k12.mn.us

shansen@isd2142.k12.mn.us

 

South Ridge

Christina Nelson, Child Educator

Sara Brown, Parent Educator

Amanda Aldrin, Child Educator


chrisnelson@isd2142.k12.mn.us

slorbieckibrown@isd2142.k12.mn.us

aaldrin@isd2142.k12.mn.us

 

Tower-Soudan

Mary Larson, Child Educator

Sarah Hansen, Parent Educator

mlarson@isd2142.k12.mn.us

shansen@isd2142.k12.mn.us


For more information, please contact your local school or contact DaNeil Sirjord
​dsirjord@isd2142.k12.mn.us or call 749-8130  ex. 1116.

 

ATTENTION PARENTS OF PRESCHOOL CHILDREN

To enroll in early childhood programs in Minnesota, children must have up to date immunizations or file a legal exemption.  Parents may file a medical exemption signed by a health care provider or a conscientious objection signed by a parent/guardian and notarized.  Our school district follows Minnesota law with regards to immunizations and your child will not be able to attend any early childhood programming if immunizations are not up to date.
 
No child with overdue immunizations will be allowed to attend.
 
If you need assistance obtaining immunizations please contact the St. Louis County Health Department at 1-800-450-9777 for information about low cost or no cost immunizations.